top of page
  • Spencer Frady

Bacon Wins Inaugural Bubby Jones Master of Going Faster Series

Brady Bacon behind the wheel - Photo courtesy USAC Media - Photographer: Josh James Artwork

Series News Release - USAC Media

Brady Bacon won the opener. Brady Bacon won the closer.

With those two victories, the Broken Arrow, Okla. native bookended the inaugural Bubby Jones Master of Going Faster series Presented by Spire Sports + Entertainment with success in 2022.

With his victory in last Saturday’s 26th running of the Oval Nationals at California’s Perris Auto Speedway, Bacon collected the “Bubby Jones” championship and a cool $10,000 reward.

Bacon accumulated the most points throughout the 10-race miniseries for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship, ultimately scoring the title by 34 points over Justin Grant.

Praising the extra bonuses up for grabs in the brand-new series, Bacon applauded the addition of such events to add to his hall-of-fame worthy career resume as well as to his racing funds.

“The championship pays more; we ran second in the championship and won the Master of Going Faster, which pays more than my first two championships combined,” Bacon commended. “Hats off to everyone behind the scenes and everyone who supports USAC racing, helping to raise the tide and keep these purses raising up. I’m very thankful for that and it makes it a lot easier to survive the winter when we have that extra money at the end of the year."

With a victory in the opening round at Kansas, City, Kansas’ Lakeside Speedway in May, Bacon nearly led the series from start-to-finish, only trailing once by a single point to Robert Ballou (Rocklin, Calif.) following Ballou's triumph in the second event at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track in late May.

Grant (Ione, Calif.) led all drivers with three wins in the series at Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway, Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway and Ohio’s Eldora Speedway.

Other feature winners throughout the series’ slate included Logan Seavey (June 18 at Port Royal), Kyle Cummins (July 29 at Bloomington & October 1 at Lawrenceburg) and Jadon Rogers (September 17 at Tri-State Speedway).

The series honored the memory of the late, great Norman “Bubby“ Jones was a 27-time winner in USAC National competition during his National Sprint Car Hall of Fame career and also captured back-to-back CRA Sprint Car titles in 1983 and 1984. Jones passed away in 2020.

Bacon will receive a custom trophy provided by Potter Metal Art for earning the title along with his monetary rewards at the 2022 USAC Night of Champions on Friday, December 9.


May 12: Lakeside Speedway | WINNER: Brady Bacon

May 22: Terre Haute Action Track | WINNER: Robert Ballou

Jun 17: Williams Grove Speedway | WINNER: Justin Grant

Jun 18: Port Royal Speedway | WINNER: Logan Seavey

Jul 26: Kokomo Speedway | WINNER: Justin Grant

Jul 29: Bloomington Speedway | WINNER: Kyle Cummins

Sep 17: Tri-State Speedway | WINNER: Jadon Rogers

Sep 24: Eldora Speedway | WINNER: Justin Grant

Oct 1: Lawrenceburg Speedway | WINNER: Kyle Cummins

Nov 5: Perris Auto Speedway | WINNER: Brady Bacon


(Top Ten)

1. 707-Brady Bacon

2. 673-Justin Grant

3. 630-C.J. Leary

4. 552-Robert Ballou

5. 551-Emerson Axsom

6. 533-Logan Seavey

7. 502-Chase Stockon

8. 482-Matt Westfall

9. 452-Jadon Rogers

10. 392-Jason McDougal


bottom of page