top of page
  • Spencer Frady

Rain at Volusia Forces Sprints to a Tuesday Doubleheader

Series News Release - USAC Media

Barberville, Florida (February 12, 2024) - After receiving heavy continuous rain with thunderstorms in the area and more on the way at Volusia Speedway Park, officials have concluded Monday’s DIRTcar Nationals program with the safety of teams and fans in mind.

By completing the Elliott’s Custom Trailers & Carts Semi-Feature for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship and the DIRTcar Late Models, Monday’s program is deemed complete.

However, to make sure drivers and fans still get the shows they came for, Monday’s USAC Sprint Car Feature is being moved to the Tuesday, February 13 program and Monday’s DIRTcar Late Model Feature is being moved to Wednesday, February 14.

That will give fans a USAC doubleheader on Tuesday with the DIRTcar Late Models and then four DIRTcar Late Model Features on Wednesday in addition to the Super DIRTcar Series program.

Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park continues Tuesday, Feb. 13, with DIRTcar Late Models and USAC Sprint Cars.

Twenty-seven USAC Sprint Car drivers were on hand for Monday’s event. C.J. Leary (Greenfield, Ind) set a new USAC track record in qualifying with a lap of 16.173 seconds for an average speed of 111.297 mph. Alex Bright (Collegeville, Pa.), Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.) and Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.) won each of the three heat races while Daison Pursley (Locust Grove, Okla.) scored a victory in the semi-feature.

Chase Stockon (Fort Branch, Ind.) and Mitchel Moles (Raisin City, Calif.) will start on the front row of Tuesday’s 25-lap makeup feature program. The first feature will be 30 laps.

On Tuesday, pits open at 1pm Eastern with grandstands opening at 4pm, the drivers meeting at 4:30pm, engine heat at 5pm and hot laps at 5:30 followed by qualifying and racing. General admission tickets are $35. Reserved tickets are $40. Premium reserved tickets are $45. Child reserved tickets are $18. Pit passes are $45. Advance tickets available at

Live coverage of Tuesday’s USAC event will be streamed on FloSports.


SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (8 laps, top-6 transfer to the feature) 1. Alex Bright, 2. Jadon Rogers, 3. C.J. Leary, 4. Brady Bacon, 5. Carson Garrett, 6. Robert Ballou, 7. Brian Ruhlman, 8. Trey Osborne, 9. Daison Pursley. NT

ROD END SUPPLY SECOND HEAT: (8 laps, top-6 transfer to the feature) 1. Justin Grant, 2. Kyle Cummins, 3. Kevin Thomas Jr., 4. Briggs Danner, 5. Tom Harris, 6. Mitchel Moles, 7. Matt Westfall, 8. Brandon Mattox, 9. Chase Howard. 2:16.61 (New Track Record)

T.J. FORGED/CAR IQ THIRD HEAT: (8 laps, top-6 transfer to the feature) 1. Logan Seavey, 2. Timmy Buckwalter, 3. Jake Swanson, 4. Joey Amantea, 5. Chase Stockon, 6. Zach Daum, 7. Tye Mihocko, 8. Hunter Maddox, 9. Robert Bell. 2:17.52

ELLIOTT’S CUSTOM TRAILERS & CARTS SEMI: (10 laps, top-6 transfer to the feature) 1. Daison Pursley, 2. Tye Mihocko, 3. Matt Westfall, 4. Brian Ruhlman, 5. Hunter Maddox, 6. Trey Osborne, 7. Brandon Mattox, 8. Chase Howard, 9. Robert Bell. 3:00.79


CURRENT USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Justin Grant-170, 2-Logan Seavey-159, 3-C.J. Leary-158, 4-Kevin Thomas Jr.-150, 5-Robert Ballou-136, 6-Briggs Danner-124, 7-Jake Swanson-111, 8-Daison Pursley-109, 9-Joey Amantea-104, 10-Alex Bright-104.


bottom of page